Lens on the City, Opera at the Movies, Birthday Dinner

1. This class looks like so much fun. I wish I could do it. If you sign up, let me know how it goes!

Lens on the City

Instructor: Karen DiChiera, Director of LATOH; Photography Instructor TBA

Lens on the City is a three-day inter-generational learning experience, July 30, 31 and August 1st. Families or groups of adults and children (8 years to 108 years!), will experience exclusive photo tours of interesting historic sites in Detroit, including The Carr Center, Corktown, Boston Edison and the Detroit Opera House. Participant photos will be displayed in an exhibit at the Detroit Opera House for the final performance of the Opera Camp and Opera Workshop. Budding photographers will also receive instruction on photography basics from a professional photographer.

Students 18 and under are free if accompanied by an adult. Everyone should bring their own camera. You can register online at the Michigan Opera website.

2. In other news, my birthday is Thursday and I’m looking forward to a fun long weekend. Wednesday night we’ll be going to Ann Arbor to see the Met Opera summer encore of Der Rosenkavalier. It’s starring Renee Fleming, and I’m excited to see her perform. Every season, the Metropolitan Opera broadcasts a selection of its operas in movie theaters across the country so if you can’t get to New York to see one or you’re new to opera and want to try it out in a casual, low-key way, you can buy a ticket at a participating movie theater. The Met provides character sheets and summaries so you can follow along, and there are subtitles on the screen since the operas usually aren’t in English. The singing and production values are world-class. Check out their 2012-13 season lineup here. I’m looking forward especially to Otello, The Tempest, Aida, and Rigoletto.  Area theaters that participate in the program are the Ann Arbor Quality 16, Livonia 20, and Sterling Heights Forum 30.

3. We have to decide where to go for my birthday dinner on Thursday night! I’ve heard great things about Cliff Bells. Has anyone been there? How is it?

4. No plans on Friday night. It’s the Olympics Opening Ceremonies and you’ll have to pry me away from the tv with a crowbar.

About personalmap

I was born at a very young age. As the years went by I got older, but never too old.
This entry was posted in Doing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lens on the City, Opera at the Movies, Birthday Dinner

  1. Mike says:

    I love the Lens on the City class idea. I wish my daughter was just a little older, I know she would love this. Maybe next summer….she is 7!

Leave a Reply

