Michigan

So, we’ve moved back to Michigan.

It seems so weird to just say it out like that. It hasn’t sunk in yet. We’re still not all the way unpacked. There are boxes in our bedroom and living room. I keep expecting to get on a plane back to Boston any day now. I’m homesick. I miss my friends so much.

But, after all, I have friends here too. And our place is amazing. And there’s so much more to do here than there was when I left. I’m excited to start exploring and try everything. I’m going to have to get used to unstructured time, which I historically don’t do very well with. I find myself sitting down with the internet, and before I know it a whole week has passed and I haven’t done anything but keep ahead of my google reader. So I hope this blog will be a good motivator. I have to actually do things if I’m going to have anything to write about, right?

In Boston I went to the theater all the time. Experimental theater, not mass-produced Broadway stuff, which really isn’t my taste. I was always one of the first in line for a new restaurant or cocktail bar. I cooked elaborate dinners and threw massive parties. I went to the museum all the time. I read a lot. Seriously, a lot. I worked and took classes at Harvard. In Detroit I have a three month old baby and no job and have to motivate myself to get out of the house because there’s nobody to make me if I don’t want to. Once upon a time this sounded like a dream come true, but I’m starting to realize that unless I can actually take advantage of it, it’s just a lot of wasted time.

At work I had an Outlook calendar and task list always going. I went to my scheduled meetings, and when I was at my desk I would plug away at the task list, checking things off until I’d gotten through everything I needed to do that day. I’ve been thinking maybe I should start making myself a to-do list every morning just, I don’t know, for life.

1. Take a shower.
2. Pack up the baby.
3. Go to the coffee shop.
4. Read two chapters in whatever book I’m reading now.
5. Go to the DIA because they have air conditioning and I want to visit the Whistler.

Like that. But maybe a blog will help too.

So,  a quick introduction to me. My name is Meg. I’m 31 years old. Grew up in Riverview. Went to Gabriel Richard, then U of M Ann Arbor. Moved to Boston ten years ago and got a Masters in Art History and Museum Studies. Worked at Harvard as an event planner. Took a bunch of classes there on the side, mostly in Literature. Almost five years ago I married my high school sweetheart. He’s a lawyer. On April 1 I had a baby, who is adorable, and last week we moved back Downriver so she could grow up closer to our families. That about sums it up.

Ha. This post is a mess. Writing is another thing I’ll have to get back in the habit of doing. If you don’t practice, you lose it. Obviously.

About personalmap

I was born at a very young age. As the years went by I got older, but never too old.
This entry was posted in Doing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Michigan

  1. SO glad to see you posting again! I’ve missed you 🙂 Oh, I know I keep up with you on FB, but it’s just not the same.

    This is Maria/kiwiria btw…. in case you couldn’t guess 🙂

  2. Meg – I’m so happy you’re writing again. I’ve missed your posts so much here and on LJ. I had seen your FB status updates about Michigan but wasn’t sure what was happening in your life. Thanks for the update! Hope to see more posts here!

  3. Mike says:

    Welcome back, I look forward to reading. Great post too, I can’t wait to hear about all of the things you “re-discover” back home!

Leave a Reply

